Wines that ferment at higher temperatures

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

corinth

Reaction score
Since I live in Southern California, It can be warm all year long in my neck of the woods, typically 75 -85 degrees inside the house with the AC on.

My question is this, are there certain wines that typically ferment at higher temps(I am sure there are but I am no expert). I have read that white wines generally ferment at lower temps than reds and ...

I know that certain yeasts do better in certain temps (reading yeast charts)and that varying the temp of fermentation can have its benefits. Right now I am fermenting a Pinot Noir at approximately 63 -68 degrees just to see how it turns out.

I can use ice packs( as in the Pinot) or big containers to bring down the temp for certain wines. I have a small freezer in my garage and my neighbor says they will let me borrow their extra fridge in exchange for some wine but in general,

Are there certain wines that generally do better at higher temps which would give me a little leeway. I am sure there are but I am to new at this to know which ones.

Help?
Corinth:a1

Red wines tend to do better than white wines at higher temperature. But what it really boils down to is the yeast strain you are using. Also, something key to remember is that it is the wine temperature not the room temperature that matters. The temperature of the must can be quite a bit cooler or hotter than room temperature depending on what is going on.

Wines that ferment at higher temps

Thanks for the quick reply Seth.
I do know that reds tend to do better at higher temps and I have read a lot of wine yeast charts that give their temp parameters and how fast they ferment.