Wine Analyzers (Vinmetrica, sentia, etc.)

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RylanJacobs

Supporting Members
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Are there any other wine analysis companies besides Vinmetrica that makes equipment to test SO2, pH, TA, and YAN?

I’m interested in a Vinmetrica sc-300, but want to make sure I’ve looked at all the competitors and options that are out there.

Thanks in advance!

Hanna instruments make a series of auto-titrators for measuring SO2, TA and YAN, but I think they're substantially more expensive than Vinmetrica. I have no experience using either, nor the Sentia device that you mention in your title.

At the other end of the spectrum you could just get a burette which (together with a pH meter) would let you measure all of the above. The advantage of this is simplicity - very little to break or go wrong - and only one (pH) probe to maintain. You could also measure TA using an indicator (phenolphthalein) instead of pH meter.

I use my pH meter and burette to measure TA (titrate with NaOH) and SO2 (Ripper method, titrate with iodine or AO method, titrate with NaOH*). I haven't done YAN yet but could easily do so with a couple of other reagents. The formol titration method for YAN is the same as the Vinmetrica kit uses, in fact if I decide to try this I might just buy the Vinmetrica reagents. Be aware that this test does use formaldehyde, which is rather bad for you and needs to be handled with respect in a well ventilated environment.

* You do need some additional apparatus to do the AO method of SO2 measurement.

Hanna instruments make a series of auto-titrators for measuring SO2, TA and YAN, but I think they're substantially more expensive than Vinmetrica. I have no experience using either, nor the Sentia device that you mention in your title.