When do you worry about oxygen?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

le_tex

Junior
Reaction score
I apologize if this has been posted before...

I'm new to wine making, and I'm trying to make various fruit wines from pulp (wild plum, muscadine, apple). I started primary fermentation in a plastic bucket, and then racked to a glass carboy for secondary fermentation.

At what point should I be worried about oxygen affecting the wine?

Should I limit how much oxygen touches my wine in the primary fermentation bucket? If so, why do the instructions say to punch down the pulp on a daily basis?

At what point will the wine turn into vinegar? Is it a very fine line, or is the whole process pretty forgiving?

Only after fermentation has slowed down considerably or completed does exposure to oxygen become a real issue. Especially after it has completed, you want to keep your carboy topped up to limit the exposure.

Welcome le tex....hope you enjoy your stay here and get the answers you seek and share your knowledge...stay awhile.

Le Tex, welcome to the forum, you pose an interesting question that really isn't covered anywhere that I have seen.

In talking with other wine makers locally, we have come to the conclusion that the reasoning for racking from primary to secondary at 1.010 for a 6 gallon batch, and racking at 1.020 for a 3 gallon batch is due to the head space in the primary, vs the co2 being created by the must to protect the wine. In other words, if you let the SG drop much further, you run the risk of exposure.

In the secondary, you have decreased the head space considerably, and less of a co2 blanket is needed to maintain positive pressure and keep out the air. After this stage, you will want to make sure 100% of the time, that your carboys are topped off to whithin an inch or so of the bottom of the bung.