Very bad Starch Haze

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bluebloodtea

New to the Art
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, I hope someone can help me!

I'm a newbie, and I sorta jumped into wine-making way over my head. I'll give you the background:

I started learning about winemaking online when fresh, unpreserved cider became available at my farmer's market, and someone told me that it can be turned into alcohol quite easily. Well, I started a couple batches after getting some recipes on the internet, and became very excited by the process! (I still am).

A couple weeks after this, I was telling a friend about my fermentation adventures, and he suggested we get apples from his dad's apple tree and turn them into wine. Sounded great to me! Free fruit = nearly free wine!

I now have plenty of apple wine fermenting happily away, but have since learned of the right way to process apples for wine-making. I processed them the wrong way (here's where we can cringe): I cut the apples, boiled them for a while, and blended them in the boil with my trusty hand blender. I now know that this creates a very murky (read:eek:paque) must that will not clear. So I did some reading online, and thought that the cure would be pectic enzyme. I treated my fermenting must to about 5 TBs of it, and parts of it cleared, but most of it didn't. I also have visible solids floating around in there too.

Upon further research, I found out that boiling the apples released a lot of starch into the must. Now for the question, will Amylase clear a very, very cloudy wine? Will it break down the visible solids floating around that don't seem to want to settle out? Do I have any chance of clearing this wine, or is it doomed to cloudiness forever? How much amylase is safe to use?

Thanks for any help and/or advice. Ahh...the learning process...