Total Newbie!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Katie

Junior
Reaction score
Hi all!

I really am a complete novice at this wine-making lark and can't wait to get started. Likely to have loads if questions that may sound as though I'm really thick! Please bear with me if I ask what may seem like obvious questions.

To begin - what does FPqck mean?
What do I do with my hydrometer (keep it clean!) Bought one cos the guy in the shop said they're good to have, but have no idea what it's for!
What is a really foolproof, easy, quick wine to start with?
As a general rule of thumb, does more sugar equal higher alcohol content? And does more sugar also mean wine takes longer to finish?
Can I re-use sterilised screw-cap wine bottles so long as I'm sure wine has completely finished fermenting? And should I use that 'fermentation stopper' stuff?

Thanks for the mo.

Katie
x

Welcome aboard, Katie. I have a few minutes, so I'll take a quick stab at your questions.

1) An fpack is a flavor pack (usually concentrated fruit juice and/or sugar) used to enhance and sweeten a finished wine.
2) Go to the "Beginners Wine Making Forum" Section of this forum. There, you'll find all kinds of useful information and threads, including "how to use a hydrometer for newbies", "Getting answers you want fast!", "Book for Beginners", "Common Terms" and more. You have a lot of reading to do!
3) My suggestion---after you do your "homework"---is get a wine kit. A kit will give you all the ingredients you need to make a decent wine all in one package. You will get a feel for how the process works and gain much needed confidence.
4) More sugar in the fermenter generally does mean higher ABV (alcohol by volume) of your finished wine. It does not necessarily mean the wine will take longer to finish.