WineXpert Too sweet! No dry characteristics

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Background - I've been drinking wine and visiting Napa and Sonoma for 4 years. I know enough to be dangerous.

Last night, I went toa local (N.E. Florida) event showcasing Winexpert kit wines.

In my opinion, the wines were good, but much sweeter than commercially available wines. All were made according to directions, with no changes to the instructions.

That being said, I purchased and started a Corvina Classico Di Veneto w/ Crushendo and a Italian Amarone. I am now a winemaker :)

For those of you use kits, are your results less dry than expected? What do you do to correct?

For my next two wines, I plan on a Barolo and a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc.

What deviations from the directions do you typically make?

Welcome and glad to have you aboard!

I would be curious as to the exactwines you tasted and how long they were aged. For those of us who has been doing this for a while have seen the "kit taste" mentioned on numerous occasions.

This quote is from Tim Vandergrift, Technical Services Manager Winexpert Ltd. and was in response to someone asking about "kit taste" aging out of wine.

"I usually don't contribute to this topic, as my opinion could be construed as somewhat prejudiced (ha ha!) but I wll say one thing: if it ages out, it's not KT ('kit-taste'). 'Kit taste' should be something that kits taste like, always.

If it ages out, it's, GIDMWMYTISHT ('Golly, I drank my wine much younger than I should have-taste'), or perhaps, HUAWTNLWACWT ('Hey, un-aged wine tastes nothing like well-aged commercial wine-taste')"

All the wines I tasted were W.E. kits.

CRUSHENDO" CORVINA CLASSICO DI VENETO

<H6>ITALIAN AMARONE</H6>
<H6>SAUVIGNON BLANC (Was expecting the grassy, grapefruit New Zealand)</H6>
<H6>PINOT NOIR </H6>