Too much dry

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juventude

Reaction score
My wines tend to go too much dry and i don't understand the art of back sweeting as i always tend to go out with the dose even if i try to go 100 g of sugar at a time for the gal.... Please i meed assistance on this issue... I also found another mistake that i was doing with my wine when washing upyhe bottlspp

juventude said:
My wines tend to go too much dry and i don't understand the art of back sweeting as i always tend to go out with the dose even if i try to go 100 g of sugar at a time for the gal.... Please i meed assistance on this issue... I also found another mistake that i was doing with my wine when washing upyhe bottlspp

The bottleswere washed withmrtabisfste unfortunatfely ruining th e tasteof th e product

I am pretty new to this too but here is how I do it. I have found if I run my wine dry, ie: .990-.995, I will add 2/3c-3/4c sugar and it will sweeten it up to my liking. I just dump it in my 1 gal. carboy and stir it very well for a couple of minutes. Never had a problem and as long as my wine was clear to start with, the sugar won't affect that a bit.

If you're going to backsweeten use sorbate and k meta. Stirred separately. Wait a few days to clear then backsweeten.
You risk restarting fermentation by not using sorbate.

You should always let your wines finish to dry.

Almost every new winemaker has a little trouble trying to get a handle on backsweetening. Here's how we approached it- We'd sweeten the wine to our liking, then take a hydrometer test and make a note of how much sugar it took to get to that SG. Next time we bottled, all we had to do was look at our notes.