Temperatures

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xanxer82

Reaction score
Today, I took one of those stick-on thermometers that are used on aquariums and stuck it on the side of my primary.
It's been holding aroun 70 to 72 deg. F. The airlock is bubbling happily.
I also have a probe type thermometer and a floating one too.

What does everyone else use to keep track of temperatures? How often do you take readings?

Most yeast have an optimal temp range to work properly. Too cold and the wine will stop fermenting. Too warm and the yeast will stop, you could get off flavors. I keep track through out active fermentation and just when I add kmeta during bulk aging.
VC

I'm new at this, 2 kits going now in carboys, but I rigged a ceramic tile with a reptile pad , 16W, underneath that keeps the tile gently warm. I rewired a home depot thermostat to control the pad's on/off. I took the thermistor out of the themostat and connected it to a small rod of stiainless steel that sits directly in the wine. SO.. the stainless rod/thermometer turns on the repitle pas as needed to maintain whatever temprature I set.

smiley20.gif

Just make sure to not be applying too much heat on the bottom, you could potentially wipe out the yeast. Brew belts are nice as they wrap the entire fermentor and are up off the floor. I would think a 8x8 ceramic tile would disperse the heat better than nothing

Mike,