Taste of my mead

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zeroblank57

Reaction score
This is my first time ever trying to make mead (or really anything for that matter). I used about 3 pounds of honey for a gallon since I read that would make a sweet mead which is what I want.

I switched it to the glass bottle and it's been sitting in there for about a month and a half to two months. Being curious I took a small sample and it tasted like really sweet honey water. Is this normal? Did I mess up somewhere?

I didn't keep track of the hydrometer readings so I don't know much about that. I was also curious if it had any alcohol content or not. Thanks for the help!!

did it bubble at all? did you use an airlock? was there a time when it stopped bubbling and there was sediment on the bottom?? has it cleared at all since you began it? and as for any alcohol flavor, can you detect any alcohol? if you are unsure you can still get a hydrometer and try to get a readfing and see what it says

So you didn't keep a record of test reading ? Ok, a bit of an error there.

Just take a reading now then. That should give you some idea whether it fermented or not...

3lb in a gallon will give a gravity of something like 1.090 plus.....

If its still very high, then you can always take a pint of must, whizz it in a sanitised liquidiser, then add it back and sprinkle a pack of K1V-1116 on it (better still, rehydrate it as per the pack instructions)

did it bubble at all? did you use an airlock? was there a time when it stopped bubbling and there was sediment on the bottom?? has it cleared at all since you began it? and as for any alcohol flavor, can you detect any alcohol? if you are unsure you can still get a hydrometer and try to get a readfing and see what it says