Sweetening & Bottling

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eachese

Junior
Reaction score
This is my first try at wine-making and we are using a Vino del Vida Merlot kit. Unfortunately we haven't been about to bottle it yet, but we're past the 28 days the instructions say. As long as the specific gravity is okay, is there a problem bottling it late? How do we figure out the final alcohol content? And any suggestions on sweetening the wine before bottling? We bought a bottle of sweetener (I forget the name of it) but I'm nervous to use it.

THANKS!

How do we

Trust the hydrometer, not the calendar. Best bet is to ferment the wine to dry (i.e. SG 0.992 or so) and then back sweeten the wine to your taste. The final ABV will be (Initial SG - Final SG) x 131. If you plan to back sweeten the wine, you have to stabilize it first with Potassium Metabisulfite (1/4 t per 5 or 6 gallons) and Potassium Sorbate (1/2 t per gallon). This will protect the wine against re-fermentation from the sweetener. BTW, not sure what you bought as a "sweeterer" but I would recommend table sugar made into a simple syrup (2 parts sugar completely dissolved in 1 part water). Also, make sure to bench test you additions with a small quantity and then scale it up for the entire batch. Go on the light side with the sugar. You can always add more but reducing it is a whole other problem. Most people can begin to discern sweetness at an SG of 1.000. Really sweet wines are 1.020, but it is a matter of taste.

THANK YOU! Very helpful!

What I bought is Global Vintners Inc. Wine Conditioner. It says to add to wine after stabilizing and clearing (2oz/gal min).