WineXpert Still a rookie.

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slingshot

Reaction score
I bottled my VR riesling on friday. Today when I went to lay the bottles down I noticed some very fine sediment in some of the bottles. You really gotta look for it but it's there.I racked from the carboy into the primary and bottled from there. I even stopped the siphon early so I wouldn't stur up sediment. I waited 15 days after stabilizing and it looked really clear. But I'm still a rookie. I could have just waited longer before bottling or I could have racked into another carboy and waited. Well the other carboy is busy at the moment and I'm still a rookieandhad to bottle it. With a couple kits in the wine rack now I my be a little more patient with the 2 more I have going.
smiley36.gif

Racking and waiting is the best method to rid the sediment in bottle
for sure. If theres nothing to hinder the operation then your 1 step
ahead of the game!
smiley2.gif

We bottled our first batch this weekend (VR Pinot Noir). All clear except for the last 2 bottles, which will be used for topping off future batches. We racked directly from the carboy using the auto-siphon and the bottling wand and it worked perfectly. We did not loose the siphon once (although I did add some insurance by putting some electrical tape onthe edge of the tubing where it attaches to the racking cane).

GrapeApe

I always use a bread tie twisty and tighten with a pair of pliers but
have to get myself to a autoparts store and get a fuel injection clamp
as these are made to tighten more evenly because of the extra pressure
in the fuel lines.