Sparkalloid vs Super KC

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dsiddall

Junior
Reaction score
I am new to the whole wine thing and have only tried kits. I just received a kit that uses the K-C packet at the end for clearing. I am allergic to shellfish which is a component of the "C" in K-C. Any recommendations for a good substitute? Thanks!
De

There is absolutely nothing to worry about. The proteins from the
shellfish are 100% removed and free from all allergens! This subject
has been covered before and Masta (the forum administrator) can fill
you in on the specifics on this. He frequents all posts very often and
Im sure will chime in very shortly! Welcome to the freindliest forum.
What kits have you done and have you been happy with them?

Thanks for the info!

I did an island mist strawberry white merlot. Haven't tasted it yet. I will in 3 weeks.
I did a honey mead, and didn't top it off when i racked it, so i will probably have to re-rack in 2 months, add the KC to get it clear, and top off...I think.
smiley4.gif

the biggest confusion with the mead kit was that it didn't mention anything about topping off...oh well.

Am in the process of starting a Chilean Savignon Blanc, it's in the primary now and I have an airlock on it...didn't with the others, live and learn, and will remember to top off this time when racking to the carboy, I may be old but can still learn...
smiley36.gif
so I am looking forward to this one turning out closer to "right" than my other 2 attempts, but only time and drinking it will tell.