SO2 measurements

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dufresne11

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am relatively new at this wine making hobby, 18 months and 7 pails of juice are my experience. However as I get better, make mistakes, and learn more I am starting to get a bit more refined in my technique.

So every time I rack I measure TA, SO2, levels, make proper adjustemtns and put them in my notes. Anyways I run out of Titrettes the other day so I call the LWS and ask the guy if he has any so I can run over and pick them up. He says no I don't have them. I don't carry a lot of them because it isnt a popular item. However he orders me some and they will be in next week. No big deal.

I am in another town last night for an event. Every time I go somewhere new I plug "wine making supplies" into the GPS just to see what is around. I find a place about a block from the event I am at so I walk over. I ask the guy for some Titrettes and he says the same thing, "not a popular item". I am thoroughly confused at this point. I probably should have asked why they are not that popular but I didn't.

How the heck do you measure SO2 without Titrettes? Or am I surrounded geographically by people who just don't do that. It seems like a pretty darn important step if you are trying to make a quality wine that wont spoil while it ages....

Lil Help here..... What am I missing?

There are a lot of people who just follow the 3-4 month rule with adding 1/4 tsp when aging and then there are the people who just make it and bottle it before ever needing more then the 1/4 tsp per 6 gallon after fermentation is done. I buy my supplies from for this stuff here. http://finevinewines.com/

Hi Wade,