Shelf life of kits?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geronimo

Norges Skaal!
Reaction score
I'm thinking of buying 2 more kits that I won't make until next summer. Is there reason for concern about the shelf life of the kits? My LHBS's both turn stock over so fast that I know they always receive new stock, but obviously it's been in packaging since the last harvest (at least). So I'm guessing it doesn't matter? Any thoughts?

One year wont cause any problems but I would store it in a cool place. My brew store seems to mark things down up to 2 years old.

I just started an old kit for someone else that says Selection Limited Edition 2008 on the lables. Changed out the yeast and away it went.

Cheers

I've got some experience with Sale Item kits. I would not make any white wine that has a date code older than one year. Manufacturers seem to have some magic storage ability in between harvest and packaging, but once packaged a year is tops in my thinking.

There's a date code on each kit that varies by brand and I suggest becoming familiar with the one you're purchasing.

Regarding your specific question, I have two points. First, the issue on kit shelf life has to do primarily with yeast rather than juice or concentrate. Yeast often has a life of only one year and I'd be mindful of that when considering your kit's date code.

Second, there is little relationship between kit life or shelf life and harvest. Most kits contain juice or concentrate, which could be harvested well before the kit is assembled. (Do you worry about harvest time when buying grape jelly?) In fact many kits, particularly lower cost kits could have blends of grapes from several regions, even hemispheres, making harvest of minimal consequence.

Having said all that, it would be smart to store the kits in a cool location.

Tony P.

Last edited: