She Got the 'Fermenting Fever'!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Allen

Reaction score
I've been working on the details for a several months, getting my knowledge level up, upgrading my beer brewing equipment to make wine, and my wife has been "putting up with it", at best.

Friday I made my first 3 gallon batch of honey mead wine:
20090928_063115_P9250101_Small.JPG

, and Sunday we planned to make an Australian Cab from Wine Experts. We bought two kits, the Cab, and an Australian Shiraz, and planned to make the Shiraz once we bottled the Cab.

So, we made the Cab, and set it in the fermenting tub, and she said "Why wait, let's just make the Shiraz now". My response of course was, "Honey, we'd have to go out and buy a couple more 6 gallon carboys." And she said "Well, you can fit that in this week, can't you?" So we made the Shiraz, and got it to fermenting.

While I was finishing up that process, she was digging through the fridge and cabinets, pulls out a 2 liter jug of "Juicy-Juice", 100% juice, berry variety, a handful of raisins, and a pack of Red Star Champagne Yeast. When I asked what the heck was she doing, she said "Well, this is pure juice, has natural sugars, so it ought to ferment to, shouldn't it?"

Hard to argue with that logic, so I let her have at it, cut a hole in the lid, and stuck an airlock on it.
20090928_062922_P9270116_Small.JPG

20090928_063259_P9270117_Small.JPG

It contains apple, grape, pear, and raspberry juices. The only added things it has is citrus acid and ascorbic acid. My question is, does anyone know what concoction might come out of this?

I don't particularly care if it is a failure, I was just glad to see her jump on board!

I think her concoction will become a wine. Good instincts on adding the raisins because it will add body.