Cellar Craft Share some kit racking tips please!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

deboard

Reaction score
I've been making wine for several years now, but I'm a newbie to kits, I have 4 under my belt now, and I'm noticing differences in racking between what I used to make and kits.

What I notice is that when I rack from primary my auto-siphon seems to struggle to stay unclogged, particularly with the kits that have wood chips. The kits that have the oak powder have some problems as well, but not as much. The bentonite sludge seems to be a little of the problem as well, but the wood chips seem to really foul it up.

I tried placing a clean piece of pantyhose (I buy them for straining bags, much cheaper) over the end, but that doesn't help much, it may actually make it worse.

So are there any ways to make this work a little better? Switching to 1/2 inch hose? Do those of you who auto-siphon leave the cap off the bottom when racking from primary?

Anyways, I'm looking for some tips from those of you who have been doing this a while.

BTW, just racked my CC Red Mountain Trio, and it took a long long time, which reminded me to ask this question.

Deboard, some of the things that I have found that help are:

1. install a spigot on the primary fermenter and rack through the spigot rather than a racking cane.
2. put everything that you can in bags, i.e. grape skins, raisins, oak chips, etc. and remover the bag before racking.
3. stir the wine a couple of times daily during primary but as you approach the first racking, i.e. when SG hits around 1.020, let everything settle for a day or so to get everything to the bottom.

Hope this helps some.

Rocky gives good advise except I hate putting everything in bags.