SG Below 1.0 After Primary Fermentation of Cider

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike72677

Junior
Reaction score
I'm new at wine making and just started my 1st kit a few weeks ago. I was then given 5 gallons of fresh pressed apple cider last Sunday and told "here, make wine". I have no clue on making wine from scratch yet, but got out a recipe book and followed the instructions. I had the wine in a primary fermenting bucket for a week, stirring it daily. Yeast was added a day after I got the cider because of the campden tablets. It took about 48 hours and then hard core fermentation started. It was bubbling like crazy. It slowed down and I checked the SG last night and it was about .996. It started out around 1.082. I transferred it last night from the bucket to a carboy.

My question...does everything sound like it's going OK or should it not be down to .996 already? Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

All is well! Congratulations.

Now you need to keep it under airlock and let it settle out a bit, transferring to a clean carboy as lees build up, perhaps every 3-4 weeks.

Then later, you can decide whether to leave it dry or stabilize, add sugar or other amendments, and bottle. Some folks do like to put a cinnamon stick or two in the carboy for a short period.

Thanks for the quick response! Just continue to rack every few weeks now? That's all that's left in the instructions other than adding anti-oxident before bottling.

Thanks again for the very quick response! I didn't want to end up with apple cider vinegar!

The only steps left in my recipe are racking several times and adding anti-oxidant at bottling.