Screw cap bottles

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikey1273

Reaction score
Ok I'm new at this and never bottled before be gentle with me..

I have some people giving me empty bottles and I have gotten some nice ones mostly greens and leaf color but a few are screw top (gasp) :p. one was a Raspberry sparkling wine/champagne bottle I got for Christmas that is nice heavy glass.

Can I just use them over with corks? will that work?

No, toss them into the recycling bin. The glass at the neck (threaded area) is super thin. You risk it breaking off with the cork insertion and the cork removal. Remember it was in NO WAY designed for a cork to be inserted. It was designed for a slight twist to break the seal. You will be putting a boatload of pressure on the neck if you cork it.

I would not attempt to use any screw top bottles. The reason for this is the top rim of the bottle is thinner than a corked bottle and they can fracture when a cork is applied.

BOB

I have used the screw top bottles now and then with no issues. Usually they are from bottles left over after a party so dont require much cleaning (i would not waist time cleaning a dirty screw top bottle). I use a port. floor corker and a smaller cork. These bottles are for wine I'm giving away since the bottle will probably not be coming back. So far I haven't broken any tops in my 20 years of wine making.

cheers

So far I haven't broken any tops in my 20 years of wine making.

cheers

I have and it wasn't pretty. Removing corks using a levered (waiter's) corkscrew can crack the top too. You have been very lucky. I would never risk it. Regular bottles are easy to obtain.