Remember 9/11?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have resigned myself to the fact that I have "Swiss-Cheese" memory. There are lots of things that I simply can not recall. Call it a part of getting, old but one thing is for sure. I have a vivid memory of 9/11.

I live within 35 miles of NYC, and work with 10 miles. I remember that the day was simply beautiful. Sunny, cool and crisp without a single cloud in the sky.

At the time, I was a consultant. This job sent me everywhere. One day I am in LA, the next in Dallas, and the next in Podunk. On 9/10 I was in the twin towers teaching a class. I normally taught a 2 day class, but was a "refresher" one day class.

On 9/11, I was driving into the bowels of Pa to teach a class at a steel company when I heard about a plane crashing into the twin towers over the radio (WPLJ, Scott and Todd show). Remembering my history, I recalled how a bomber crashed into the Empire State building back in the forties. As I am thinking about this, I remember feeling that it was very odd since that particular disaster occurred in dense fog and here it was sunny and clear. As a one-time student pilot, I also felt it odd that a plane should crash into a building since early pilot training teaches how to look for suitable emergency landing sites and that area of Manhattan simply was not one of them.

Then the second plane hit.

In that split second, things changed. In that moment, I realized that we were under attack. My emotions ran from concern about an accident to anger over an attack. I remembered how the towers were bombed years before (a van stuffed with explosives was set off in the lower level parking garage), I remember thinking that this should be cleaned up in no time.

Then the towers fell.