Red Wine cloudy and bitter

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seasider

Junior
Reaction score
We have just bottled our first batch of wine 'Kenridge Connisour Merlot' (3 days ago). we have been through all the fermentation stages, de-gassing and stabilizing, the SGR was at 0.990 after day 8 and remained at 0.990 throughout - finings was added at stage 4 (stabilizing) but no sweetener. added as this was our first batch we couldn't tell if it needed sweetening. we did not use a filter when bottling (maybe we should have) as the wine is thick, cloudy and tastes bitterr - is there anything we can do to rescue it ?

I am still new to this but from what I've gathered from friends and family that do this and from people on this forum is you should probably let it age for a year or two. Whether or not you want to back sweeten is completely up to your taste so no one can really tell you yes or no on that but I've heard aging can make something that tastes sour, bitter and starchy at first into an amazing wine. I have tasted a batch of merlot a friend was making years ago and it tasted straight horrible when I tried it then. A few months ago I was telling him that I was ready to start making wine myself and he reminded me about that wine and told me that batch ended up being the most delicious he'd ever made. I know aging will help this and I imagine others on here will say the same.

The bitter taste is typical of a newly made wine.

Did you rack after fining and before bottling? If so, how many days after fining?

pardon my ignorance, very first batch and keep seeing the word 'racking' and assumed it meant 'bottling' .the instructions did not give any specifiics on racking - so, without actually knowing what racking means I can only say, that we syphoned from the carboy 7 days after adding the fining agent