WineXpert Really need sorbate?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whynot

Wine & Scotch
Reaction score
So I've been doing this for a few months now, and I realize you put in K-sorbate to prevent new fermentation when you back sweeten? So why do they put sorbate in WE Eclipse & LE kits, if we are not back sweetening?

I recently racked my Oregan Pinot LE2013 and decided not to put in the sorbate.. is there any reason we should??

Like Paul said, its added as insurance in case you didn't ferment to dry or your sanitization practices were poor. Not required unless the wine is back sweetened etc.

So I've been doing this for a few months now, and I realize you put in K-sorbate to prevent new fermentation when you back sweeten? So why do they put sorbate in WE Eclipse & LE kits, if we are not back sweetening?

I recently racked my Oregan Pinot LE2013 and decided not to put in the sorbate.. is there any reason we should??

What do you think of the LE Pinot? Starting mine soon.

Sent from my iPhone using Wine Making

I've done 4 or 5 kits since I started, that pinot going from primary to 2ndardy smelled like one of the best batches ever... I'm thinking of picking up another one, my LBS has more...

I have a vadai barrel, but with that one I'm not going to oak age it, I used a med toast american oak spirals, from start to finish also...

I have few French medium toast oak spirals. Did you use the same one in primary? Or just placed it in secondary and used it through out?

Sent from my iPhone using Wine Making

I put in 2 medium oak americans during primary, then cleaned them with hot water and a quick k-meta spray before putting them back into the 2ndary.. the way I figure, the wine takes 6 weeks to make so why not oak it the whole time.. :).. It'll still get the benefit from aging, but I don't have to bulk age it in oak..