Question about racking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

willj

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to wine making and this forum am a little confused about when to rack. I understand it is generally recommended to rack every 3 months and add 1/4 tsp of sulphites each time (for a 5/6 gallon batch). However I was wondering if the wine is not dropping any sediment is it still necessary to rack the wine every 3 months? Or would it be better not to disturb it and leave it until you are ready to bottle? If you don't rack, is it still advisable to add sulphites every 3 months or do you only need to add this when you rack?

Thanks!

Good question, I have gone longer, 5 or 6 months. I think a lot depends on head space, your airlock, if the carboy is in a dark cool space, how lazy you are, if you have room for more bottles.:h. If you are going to keep it that long adding more sulphites ever 3/4 months I believe would be a good thing.

The best thing to do is test for sulfite and make sure you have the right amount, relative to your pH. If you can't do that, then an estimated dose every so often is the trick. However, there are theories that if your wine is in a carboy (particularly if you have a solid stopper on it), you're not losing much sulfite at all. Even with an airlock, in a properly topped up carboy, the air exchange is minimal. In that case, 1/4 tsp every 3-4 months is excessive, unless you're racking that often. Even then, it's probably too much. If I'm not mistaken, 1/4 tsp in 5 gallons gives you about 50ppm, which is plenty for most wines. If you were aging your wine for a year, you could be adding the equivalent of 200ppm. Even if your SO2 is falling by 50% every 3-4 months, you'd still have 100ppm after a year. I'm no expert on the subject of SO2 reduction over time, so I welcome the input of others on this.