Question about racking

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

koolaide187

Reaction score
I am fairly new to making wine and I am hearing mixed opinions about racking/stirring wine. I had some wine that smelled like rotten eggs and I read some stuff on the internet about racking the wine to get the smell to go away and also add potassium metabisulfite to do the same. Well I ended up having to do both but I got the smell to go away. I use grape concentrate to make my wine right now. My question starts as this... I have heard when racking the wine to let your siphon sit at the bottom as to not allow much oxygen to be introduced to the wine. Well I know an old man who makes the best wine tell me he stirs his all the time and has never had that rotten egg smell. He suggested I start stirring the wine more. So I am kinda lost. Should I be letting the wine sit with as little as much oxygen get to it and stir good after adding the yeast? If you're wondering yes i use a air lock. I am lost as far as this goes... should I stir the wine semi often?