Quantcast

Primary Fermentation Bucket

Wine Making Talk

Help Support Wine Making Talk:

TikiWine

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
105
Reaction score
12
I am researching and getting ready to by my first equipment kit. This kit comes with a primary fermentation bucket of 20 gallons. I am wanting to start at making a 6 gallon concentrate kit and work up to must in larger quantities. I saw another thread that said a 12 gallon bucket is no problem. Would 14 gallons of empty space be too much. or should I by an 8 gallon bucket for the smaller kits?
 

sour_grapes

Victim of the Invasion of the Avatar Snatchers
Joined
Sep 19, 2013
Messages
11,431
Reaction score
9,591
Location
near Milwaukee
Within reason, having "too large" of a primary fermentation bucket is not a problem. I deem 20 gallons to be "within reason." In other words, I think the 20 gallon bucket will work fine.
 

TikiWine

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
105
Reaction score
12
Thanks. Its a kit designed for frozen must. Which requires about 10 gallons or so to produce the 6 gallons of wine. I just wanted to start very basic with a concentrate kit then move up to must. As I have a local vineyard that will sell fresh must.
 

NorCal

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
3,184
Reaction score
3,313
Location
Sierra Foothills, Nor Cal
Brutes come in 20, 32, 44 gallon. I have one of each and not a season goes by that I don’t use all of them.
 

danr

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
56
Reaction score
4
I have made wine in to large of a primary.itwill work.However I dealt with the must not being deep enough to get a good sample to test.
Another thing,before getting a vacume pump I struggled with trying to siphon up over.
Without a vacume you have to have that primary high enough to siphon into your secondary.
I myself would get a smaller primary(if you plan to continue to make smaller batches)
Good luck and have fun!
 

TikiWine

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2019
Messages
105
Reaction score
12
Thanks. I have started the kit last night. It has a loose lid to keep things out, but it doesn't have an airlock. How do I determine if fermentation has started ? I have a stick on thermometer, but it doesn't show very well.
 

Latest posts

Top