Pressing Grapes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ckassotis

Reaction score
Hey, so this is my first year on fresh grapes. I have some Chardonel which has finished fermenting and some St. Vincent now in the process of it. So the pressing will be needed for the St. Vincent, and I'm trying to make plans for that.

I do have access to someone (or two) with a small ratchet press, if needed. I guess I'm wondering what that gains me. Some work? Here's what I was thinking. How about just pouring my must into a new primary (after fermentation) that is lined with a pressing bag? Then I would squeeze the heck out of it, much like I did with my blackberry. It seems that we don't want cracked seeds, which a press might get you, and this surely wouldn't. You might not get the volume you would from a press, but am I missing something here? Is there a reason not to go this route for at least this year?

you are right you will not get the volume, actually trying to press grapes by hand, you will lose a lot of volume. And I have never had a problem with cracked seeds when pressing my grapes.

The hand squeezing will not get you the yield that is your potential. With pressing, the best way to go is to press under light pressure for a long period of time. Do not try to press every last drop out of the grapes and you will be fine.

Also, Hand squezzing is OK for small batches, but how much volume are you dealing with here? could be tough if you have a larger batch.

I've got about 4-5 gallons in one primary and about 10-12 in the other. Should be about 16-17 total. That's with the grape skins.

A bag cannot take any significant amount of pressure. You will lost a significant amount of volume for sure. As long as you don't mind that, perhaps a press is not worth the cost to you.