Please Help w/AutoSiphon

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barney

Reaction score
As I am new to this hobby, I am hoping that I am doing something wrong...

My autosiphon is more of a pump than a siphon. I have to work it like a pump and this disturbs a lot of the lees when I go to rack. Is there a trick to making it work?

If I just use a hose and suck on it until the flow starts, that works great and that may be what I do anyway, but I would like to make the AS work.

Thanks.

I had this problem when I started using the auto siphon also, came to discover was due to sucking air where hose connects to the cane. Try pushing the hose further up the cane, I even resorted to taping around the hose when I first found this to be the cause. Hope this helps.

JW, thanks for the reply.
I did try tape. Maybe, I did not use enough.

Thanks.

I would also recommend holding the end of the auto siphon a good 3-4 inches above the sediment while you are getting your suction started and then ease it gently down once you have a good siphon going

Barney, I agree with Waldo. Get yourself a small spring loaded type clamp to hold the siphon up off the bottom.

You can also use a twist tie, like the ones from a loaf of bread to put around the hose to hold it better to the siphon. I have done that a couple of times and it works well for me.