plastic screw caps

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhattin

Reaction score
Tried to pass this info along through the main thread. I have been using plastic screw cap closures now for about 3 months and have gone through about 1000.
They are the Novembal 30H60 model and are called Novatwist. does anybody else have any information on their effectiveness because, they are pretty effectrive from my experience. They cost about the same as a cork plus a shrink and save about 50% of the effort in the bottling process. Love to hear from some heavy users of corks.
Ric

rhattin,
I also use novatwists. I only use about 200 a year, not 1000's. I have had no real problems with them except for a batch of plum wine that I forgot the sorbate. Getting the screw cap off in a hurry is a problem. Funny for those watching. lol

Having said that the nova twists tended to leak a bit under the pressure in the bottle then reseal. The top of the cap bulged under the pressure.
With corks, I probably would have lost them before I knew what happened.

So far I have only had wine under novatwists for 2 years, but still no problems.

I haven't been able to find Novatwist caps in the US for under a dollar each. Where are you getting yours?

The Novatwist is made by a company called Novembal, part of the Tetra Pak Group and have 6 plants around the world, including 2 in North America. I purchase my supplies through Scott Labs, who also provide a lot of wine making chemicals and yeast. Net cost is $.10/ cap.
Ric

Plastic Cap Samples

Doug,
Have you tried them yet?? I have about 2000 on hand, but only in black.
The Scott Lab sales rep for the area dropped by yesterday to look at the Wine Time Factory and said he would like to promote them. May be a deal can be made.
Ric

Doug,
Have you tried them yet?? I have about 2000 on hand, but only in black.