Planning for small vineyard in southern Arizona

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I have no experience with SO4 but compared to the other rootstocks I have, St George, 110R, and 3309, 1103P is the most vigorous. So much so, where I originally planted all at 6 foot in row spacings with the 1103P I ended up taking every other vine out and going to 12 ft spacing in order to control the vigor. It goes to show you how much your location, soil etc. effect the vines as well as the grafted variety. Merry Christmas all!
I’ve found on average the vines in my vineyard are extremely productive as long as I keep on top of nutrient deficiencies and they produce very tannic and heavy red wines with good acidity and a hell of a lot of color so deep purple as to be nearly black sometimes in the glass. It’s unfortunate because you can’t drink it for 2-4 years it’s just too abrasive and too tannic.

Congrats on getting vines in the ground!!

Just commented on another thread so I’ll do the same here - I’m a bit concerned that the canes on your vines will grow out through the holes in the wire and will be compromised. I’d suggest switching to either the milk carton or plastic tube grow tubes.

Congrats on getting vines in the ground!!

Just commented on another thread so I’ll do the same here - I’m a bit concerned that the canes on your vines will grow out through the holes in the wire and will be compromised. I’d suggest switching to either the milk carton or plastic tube grow tubes.
I was a little concerned about that too. I'm working on making my whole backyard rattlesnake proof for my dog though which would also keep the rabbits out so I should be able to remove the wire pretty soon. In the meantime I'll just check frequently to make sure nothing is growing through the wire.

Hi Tim