PETER Z/mixing sulfite solutions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scotty

Reaction score
I have been trying to learn about molar solutions so i can make a .1 solution to use in my acid tests and as a substitute for campden tablets.

((Dont laugh but a few months back when my gf went to philadelphia i asked her to get me a large package of sodium metabisulfate crystals. I told her to take whatever Barry suggested. I now have 10 pounds of the stuff.))
So you shouldeasily understandwhat sparked my interest in finding ways to use it.

I will condense what i have read
One article stated that a .1 solution is 10 grams in 100ml of water.
((( definitely wrong)))

As i studied more, i came across a formula that uses molar mass/FW---

Im stopping here because i just realized that i did not see what seem to be division signs and must study the formula further.

smiley1.gif
smiley1.gif

JUST A NOTE---Im using a formula that i am not sure of but come up with 1.9 grams for 100ml of water.

This seems to be correct as i study moreEdited by: scotty

After more research, see thar the 10 grams per 100ml is not what i am looking for.
THE FOLLOWING IS THE PROPER FORMULA

Molarity is the unit used to describe the number of moles of a chemical or compound in one liter (L) of solution. By this definition, a 1.0 Molar (1.0 M) solution is equivalent to one formula weight (FW = g/mole) of chemical dissolved in 1 liter (1.0 L) of solvent (usually water). Formula (or molecular) weight is always given on the label of a chemical bottle.
<DIR>

Example 1: To prepare a liter of a simple molar solution from a dry reagent

Multiply the formula weight (or MW) by the desired molarity to determine how many grams of reagent to use:
Chemical FW = 194.3 g/mole; to make 0.15 M solution use

194.3 g/mole * 0.15 moles/L = 29.145 g/L</DIR>