Peach prep questions

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SteveH

Reaction score
I've a lot of info on making peach wine, but only one recipe said to remove the skins and not all said to freeze them. We are looking for the peach flavor to come through and like off dry to semi sweet wines. Just picked local peaches and have 12 lbs. so I'm going to make a 1 gallon batch. I'm new at this and have only done a few batches of wine so far.
My questions:
1. Remove skins? ( I think I'd prefer to...?)
2. Freeze or not, enough juice without freezing?
3. Best yeast to bring peach flavor through?
4. If wine needs sweetened, back sweeten with sugar or stop fermentation for residual sugar?
Thanks, SteveH

1) As with so many fruits the skins hold a lot of flavor. Plus in a fermentation process they will break down to almost nothing. I'd leave the skins, just remove stones, stems and any bad spots.
2) Many prefer to freeze peaches to help jump start the breaking down of the fruit pulp. Yes, if you have the time freeze them then let them thaw in the fridge.
3) I prefer KV-1116 but there are a number of good ones for peaches. What's your ABV goal? that may help decide for you.
4) Backsweetening a few days before you bottle is easier - so let it ferment all the way dry. Plus you know the fermentation is completed and you don't have to worry about fermentation restarting while it ages. (You don't want to add sorbate until shortly before bottling.)

Last edited:
Basically second what Scooter posted above.

About the 12 pounds for 1 gallon... I'd not hesitate to make 2 or even 3 gallons with that amount of fruit.

Agree with bkisel on Quantity - I've got 4 gallons of peach in process with 28 pounds (After Cleaning and destoning) The only water added was in the simple syrup I made to raise the SG.