paint smell

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rem1

Reaction score
Going to started on my first batch of wine from kits. A Orchard Breezin then original selection, white merlot. Im new at this &would liketo start the Breezin mist wine this sat.Weekends will give me plenty of time to clean & sanitize.
Will be making the kits in a spare beedroom - office. The wife has talked me into repainting the room. Question: After I paint that "paint smell" will linger for a few days. If there is a chance that smell could affect the must fermenting I will wait till next weekend to start. If not tomorrow is the day. What do you all think? This saturday or wait till next week?

I just would not take the chance, waiting a week will not affect the outcome of your wine hardly any, as it probally needs to age close to a year anyway.

You could start it in another room and then put the lid on with airlock as it will not suck in any air and once fermentation starts, usually in a day, it will be letting out CO2. So as long as you sytart it in another room and snap the lid on with airlock you are safe.

I would think that latex paint wouldn't really have fumes that would get into things, however, oil based sure would!

I agree with Wade. Start it in another room, and once ferm starts, you are actually outgassing, rather than breathing.

I can't hardly beleive it. The very ones who tell us new guys to wait give it time are now impatient.
smiley5.gif
the next time you guys are at the zoo go ahead and put your face against the monkey cage bars, you'll be ok
smiley2.gif

It's his first batch. Who can remember waiting to start winemaking

I wouldnt advise this with an open primary bucket Tomy but being sealed with lid will prevent the wine from any harm.