Oak opinion; to oak or too much oak

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

YoungsBlock19

Junior
Reaction score
I have glass carboys of both Syrah and Barbera. In past years I've used light-toasted staves, one per carboy, for the 10 months (or so) aging period. This year I went with two medium-toasted staves in each varietal. What are your opinions about the quantity, the toast, and how long the staves should be used? Just curious. Won't substitute opinions for actual tasting, but would love to draw on the communal experience to form a baseline of what to expect.

Appreciate any input. Cheers!

10 months? Wow.

I’m new to this so don’t take that as me saying you did it wrong.

I’ve oaked a Malbec, Shiraz and Cab. But, the instructions only said to use one stave for 3 months.

Now I’m interested in other people’s input.

Spirals give it up much quicker. A stave will take a bit longer due to the geometry but in this case size does matter lol... How big are those staves? I cut staves down to about 4-5" and maybe 1/2 to 3/4" square and use one or two but I've also used longer ones to keep it in one piece and like that too..

Ok so this might seem like a dumb question but I’m newbie here. I have a spiral to put in my wild grape carboy and I’ve been thinking 🤔. Will it float or sink? How do I get it out when I think it’s had enough? Rack the wine? Fish it out with a coat hanger? Tie a piece of fishing line to it and leave it hang outside the carboy? No post or book I have read explains
This detail.

What are your opinions about the quantity, the toast, and how long the staves should be used?
I agree with Craig (@cmason1957) that advising is tough, as your tastes are unknown to me and probably different from mine. I like oak as an accent, not a primary flavor. And the amount of oak a given varietal can handle differs greatly.