Other No Degassing a Cabernet Sauvignon kit?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bostaevski

Junior
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a total noob. One of the kits I'm working on is called U.S. Elite Winery Supplies Micro Winery Series Cabernet Sauvignon. I can't find any real info on this kit. I go to their website and through a bizarre idea of customer service - they only let wholesellers into their site!

Anyway I've already started the kit and following the instructions exactly. 14 days of primary (no secondary?) and then rack to carboy, add 1/4 teaspoon metabisulfite, post tannins, and sparkaloid.

I've read and re-read the instructions and at no point does it even hint at degassing the wine.

Is this ok?

You can try to degass it before adding clarifiers, you will find there is very little in it. Doing the complete fermentation in primary, then racking seems to take care of it.I made this kit some time back, it is probably the best cab I have ever tasted. I agree , the directions that come with it are very vague. I am thinking of trying a few others in this series.

An important thing to remember is to go by the SG. rather than number of days for all wines.....Some will ferment fast , others can be a bit slow....Good luck....And welcome to the forum....

Bert is right - go by the SG as this is your guide. Sounds like a nice wine you have going. Let us know how it is doing.
smiley4.gif

These are similar to RJS instructions which have you ferment to dry in primary. Doing it this way helps get rid of much more gas with so much surface area. I would still degas though and believe they should include that in their instructions.