Nice to meet you all!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoshDivino

Inquiring Knowledge Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
My name is Josh, I'm currently a student at Eastern Washington University (Go Eagles). I'm double majoring in Finance/Accounting. I grew up in the Yakima Valley of Washington, where if you know the area, is very into wine. My neighbors family owned a winery, so from the age of about 15 I began enjoying this awesome gift, (with parents consent at home of course.) I recently started making wine as a hobby when I'm not studying, and I'm very happy with my results. I have a pretty small set up, with a 2 gallon fermenter, 2-1 gallon carboys, auto siphon, hydrometer, and natural corks (always the real thing :p). I've made quite a few batches of amateur wine now, but I'm really looking to step the quality of product up. I really don't know where to start seeing as I'm pretty new to this, but would really love some input and hints!
I currently have a blackberry/raspberry/grape mix in my fermenter with energizer and Red Star Montrachet Red yeast. Nice to meet you all and I look forward to reading many guides and posts!
Josh Divino

Welcome to the forum!

Glad to see another from WA.
Grew up in Wenatchee myself, but im on the coast for now - still have lots of connections to the eastern side

There's lots of ways to enhance your winemaking, but it depends on what you were doing before, to know which facet of winemaking to tweak first. And it helps if you know where you want to go with your winemaking - dry reds, dessert wines, middle of the road, ports, etc..

Sanitation is key.
After sanitation and basic winemaking practices (which sounds like you may have a good handle on) almost everything is tweakable

Better nutrients
Additional additives
Oak - chips, cubes, staves, barrels
Different yeasts
Extracts