Other Newbie Q re: kit size

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wyogal

Reaction score
I am wondering, since these kits vary so much in size, can one divide one into 2 or more batches, keeping the fruit products in the freezer?

I'm just starting out & bought an equipment kit to start my "new hobby", but these juice/fruit kits appear to require all different sizes of equipment!

Are the additives marked well enough in terms of the amount (weight or volume) to be able to divide them? I just don't want to invest in a kit and find out later that I also have to double or triple the amount of equipment necessary. (And storage space!) Thanks!

Last edited:
If this is your first time making wine I HIGHLY discourage you from deviating from the instructions.
Most grape wine kits make 6 gallons of wine, some are 3 or 5 gallons. the only additional equipment you'd need for the various sizes are different sized carboys, the large glass container.

Get a cheap kit, some are as little as $45 on amazon. And make the entire thing according to the instructions.

The equipment kit that you bought should be good for a standard size kit

The wine kits are typically make 6 gallons, with the exception of dessert wines (port style), which make 3 gallons.

Until you know what you are doing, stay away from cans of juice. I would also recommend staying away from 5 gallons of fresh/frozen juice/must until you have a few kits under your belt.

All you "need" for a standard kit are:
7.5 gallon primary bucket with lid
6 gallon carboy (preferably glass)
bung and airlock
hydrometer
Wine thief that fits hydrometer
racking cane and tube
whip/spoon to degass
Sanitizing solution (like starsan)

I am wondering, since these kits vary so much in size, can one divide one into 2 or more batches, keeping the fruit products in the freezer?