newbie here

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sixfinleys

Junior
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Josh. I'm new to winemaking, my wife bought me one of those 1 gal. kits from Bed Bath & beyond, I haven't started it yet it loooks pretty old. I'm definately interested in giving this a go though. I've been doing a lot of research and reading. I see most people kind of graduate up to the 5 or 6 gal. kits. I was wondering if it's OK to do your primary fermentation in carboys like they do for beer or do you have to use the buckets for that stage? Any input would be appreciated. Thank you in advance for any help.
Josh

Welcome to the forum Josh. You will find a lot of friendly and helpful people here.!

I'm not familiar with the particular kit you got, but yes most folks do use a bucket or tub for the primary. If you try to put it in the gloon jug, it will boil over and make a huge mess. If you can find a bucket or tub that is food grade(food safe) and will hold about two gallons, that would be better.
Also check the age of the kit if you can. They do have a practical shelf life and if you go beyond that the chemicals, addititves and juice can go bad. Since you have it, you might as well try it, but I would try to get a bucket for the primary.

Again, Welcome!

Thanks, it came with some sort of collapsable bag/jug, but it already smells like plastic and I definately don't think that would be good to use. Would the white 2 gal. buckets from Home Depot be good to use?