New to WM but not to Wine. How good can I make it?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Just to chime in from the cheap seats (fruit wine making!) I am not sure what the wine cooler fruit wines are that you have had? I have a white young plum wine in a carboy that, last time I tried it, was what I would describe as "pinoty" - it was really quite nice, like a good red wine that had been run over by a plum bus. It is still a way off being great, but I think good fruit wines can surprise you - they are hard to find, however.

Sorry about the late post on this thread. I have just discovered it and boy, do I have things to say on this subject..

First off, welcome to the forum..

My background is that I come from a Hungarian family that has been grape growing and wine making commercially in Europe for 10 generations. I, myself, have been making wine for over 25 years.

I have to admit that I am a big fan of those classic chards and cabernets coming out of Napa, and am also a huge fan of classic French, Italian, and Spanish wines. I would also mention Hungarian wines, but the more classic, high quality wines do not really ever hit the US.

My tastes are driven from big, bold reds to the more soft "bouquet of flavor" that is a well made pinot noir.

All of my wines were made from "square two", starting with whole, fresh, high quality grapes.. (I say square two since I do not actually grow the grapes myself).

My wines seem popular to those that have tasted them. I have entered and won many awards in amateur competitions. One award even came with a free trip to Napa valley.

I say all of this not to brag or be snooty. There are many others here on this sight that are on a much higher plateau than myself.