New Beginner - 5 gal Recipes

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JaJinAK

Reaction score
Hello, my name is Jules. I am an absolute beginner to this and have been scouring the internet for tips and instructions. This site seems wonderful and filled with so much knowledge!
I am very limited with the supplies that I can gather up here and have found food grade 5 gal buckets and two used 5 gal glass carboys for sale. I would love to make Dragonsblood as my first attempt but cannot seem to find anything for 5 gal batches. I am worried that if I try to calculate down with some of the additives that I will really mess it up.
Has anyone made 5 gal batches and have any measurements for the additives, ie: yeast, nutrient, etc. that they are willing to share?
Thanks,
Jules

I give you two suggestions:

1. Go for 5 gallons
    The exact amounts of the additives is not that critical. Just multiply the amounts by 5/6. If this comes to an odd amount, just round it up or down a bit. Really, nothing in this recipe needs to be exact to within 20%.

2. Make some extra
    Better yet, just make it to 6 gallons. Ferment 3 gallons in each of your primary buckets. You will lose some volume to lees, so when you rack it to your 5-gallon carboy, you won't have that much left over, perhaps 1/2 gallon. Store these in, say, 1-qt. Mason jars in your fridge. You will need some more wine to top off the carboy after the next time you rack it, and you can use the wine from your fridge. Anything left over can be just thrown away or drunk.

Just a recommendation....start with regular lemon wine (aka Skeeter Pee) and then move to Dragons Blood. I've made both and prefer the SP (at least until the DB matures a little). Tasters agree...they love the SP!

Welcome to the WMT forum!