My first Batch and need help

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shadow7x

Reaction score
Hey guys im from India and im new to wine making , i dont have access to all equipment , so made some light reading and started my own wine making , Pls do help me with suggestions so that i could make my next batch better

Ingredients:
4 Kg - Grapes from super market
220 G - Honey
1 Packet bread yeast

How i made it :

I crushed the grapes in a plastic bucket , added 1 liter boiling water to it to kill bacteria as i dont have campden tablets, Added the honey to it and stirred , after some time added the yeast stirred again and closed the bucket with a piece of shirt and tied it,didnt disturb it for a night. Then for the next 3 days i opened it thrice a day and stirred to help the fermentation, the bubbling settled down on the 3rd day so i left it over night and on the fourth day i strained the must and transferred them to a plastic PET bottle, Used a balloon for airlock, im planning to do the second racking in 3 months and bottling 2 months after the second racking, Please give me some advice on improvements
Thank you :h

Then for the next 3 days i opened it thrice a day and stirred to help the fermentation

Make sure you sanitize your equipment, even the stirrer.

, the bubbling settled down on the 3rd day so i left it over night and on the fourth day i strained the must and transferred them to a plastic PET bottle,

I would have waited at least one week.

Used a balloon for airlock, im planning to do the second racking in 3 months
Rack after 1 month.

Can you find Potassium Metabisulfite? Without k-meta (campden tablets), I would plan on drinking the wine within 1 year.

Thx for the reply , sanitized everything the first time , but washed stirrer before and after use din sanitize every use , will do that in my next batch