Moldy Sirah grape

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarsColonist

Junior
Reaction score
The local wine guild got our wine grape from California Monday nite. At the crush, the Sirah came in substantially moldy (white mold... not my grape, but looked like the attached pic). We picked through the grape and pulled the parts that looked the worst (pulled 3/4 lug from 5 ... ~15% loss). Looks like it was raining in California and the mold developed in transit (Suisun valley, CA to Austin, TX). The ripest grapes were the ones most affected.

At crush, Brix was 22.5 and pH was 3.8-3.9. I added 90ppm via 10% Kmeta solution. I have no idea of the TA. The must tasted fine (but then again, Im fairly new at tasting fresh vinifera grape).

Last night I added about 4.5g/L of tartaric acid to fix the pH (down to 3.23 this morning), French Oak chips, VR Supra tannin, OptiRed, Lallzyme and some pectinase. Everything is sitting <60°F. Ill aerate, add nutrients and yeast (RP15) tonite.

Anyone have any other info I should consider?

Imagen3.jpg

Too bad about the mold. Good luck on your wine making.

The TA should drop a little and the PH rise some during alcohol fermentation. That should leave you about right.

Do you intend to do an mlf?

From what distributor or farm in California did you get your grapes?

The Malbec was a little moldy, but not nearly as bad as the Sirah. The Cab Sauv, Sangiovese and Zin were fine. This is only my second year to get grape though the Guild, and this is first time out of the last six or so years they have had a problem of this magnitude with the grape .

Im hesitant to name vineyards on public forums, but it was from Suisun Valley, Ca. PM and Ill tell you.