mango/papaya/banana wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soflavino

Reaction score
Hey guys I finally came around to join the forum yahhhh lol!! But anyways im working on my second wine (im a noob)..... i want to make a papaya mango wine with a hint of banana.. I live in south florida so ive got it already cut up and frozen and ive got my yeast red star premier cuvee, trying to get a high alcohol content and make it a semi sweet, NOT a dessert wine.... i have all the chemicals nutrients etc ready i just want to know a recipe anyone ever tried or heard of because i all around the net with no results..dont want to add too much acid blend to it either.. Also what would the wine be called?? Im not familiar with wine names so any help possible is greatly appreciated!!!! Thanks

Daniel

I also forgot to add... i was wondering if it would be good with raisins?? I currently have 16lb mango meat 8lb papaya and 2lbs banana without peel will be adding more... ( my family ate it lol) how much banana do you think would be good??? And last im fermenting out of a five gal bucket so probably 4 1/2 gal ferment.... help i want to know your wisdom guys lol!!

I don't have any experience with mangoes or papayas, but when I added banana to a blend of peach/strawberry/banana I used one pound per gallon. Peach and strawberry will be the predominant flavors. You'll probably want to use more than one pound per gallon if you want to taste the banana.
Since it's your wine, you get to make up the name! I'll probably call the PSB blend something like Summer Harvest or Summer Sunset.

Hi Daniel,You could call the wine Jimmy or Ethel (!).. but apart from looking for a more catchy name what's the matter with calling your wine Papaya Mango