Making Sassafras Wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericonthehill

Reaction score
I'm a newbie but loving wine making so far! I have 6 gal. of Mulberry wine in the carboy now. And all signs show that it should be pretty good. I have plenty of sassafras root which I usually make Tea with, so I figured I'd give the wine a try.

I'm using Jack Keller's recipe, with one exception to this point. I made the tea stronger than most, and stronger than he specifies. I love a strong sassafras flavor. I also added my sugar, all 9 cups to my tea while on the stove. I fished out all the root and pieces and added the suger while at a slow and mild boil. It all disolved fine.

That's where I'm at now with it. Getting ready to go clean my primary buckets now. I'll give updates as I go and try to be specific for those that are interested in trying to make a batch as well.

Anyone who has made a batch, any tips? How did it turn out??

I have my must sitting now. I added a little more sugar to get the SG up to 1.080. Over shot a bit and it's at 1.082, so that'll work. As I'm wanting to get it up over 10% atleast. But not too strong. Will it hurt if I throw a chunk of root into the must? I'd like an even stronger flavor I think. . Or will the root absorb my needed ingredients?

The must has a stronger smell to it, so I took the chunk of root out. Just pitched my yeast which I picked up tonight, along with a 3 gallon Carboy, 2 cases of bottles and other necessities from Brew and Wine supply. That makes 3 trips in a week for me!! Before I forget, the sg was at 1.085 when I pitched, so that works, as I plan on back sweetening when all is done with Corn Sugar.