Making Mulberry Wine, but not sure about primary ferment

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericonthehill

Reaction score
I'm making my first batch of wine, and using Mulberries from the tree in our backyard. I got everything going friday, and saturday added the yeast. My SG reading was at 1.100 which is what I wanted. But It's now Almost 36 hours into fermentation and my SG is at 1.095. Like I said I'm new at this and am not sure how quick my SG readings should fall. The recipe I'm following says it will hit 1.020 in 5 to 7 days. Is this normal for the SG to fall so slowly??

Moved the thread for ya, so more people see it.

Can i get more info from ya?

How many lbs of mulberries?
Any water? How big is the batch?
Other additions?
What yeast strain?
Any chance you stirred it up good to get some oxygen in there?
Is the fruit bagged or floating freely?

The more you can share about what you did, the easier and more definitive we can be in helping you out

30 lbs. of Mulberries 3 gallons of water, and the yeast is Lalvin K1-V1116. I'm making approx. 5 gallons of sweet wine. It's divided between 3 buckets and the berries are bagged, but loosely in the bag. Started day one with Berries, water sugar, yeast nutrient, pectic enzyme, acid, and campden tablets. I stir it morning, afternoon and night, and followed directions to get the yeast started before I added it. One bucket puts off bubbles when I stir it, the other two don't, but the SG reads the same in all three, 1.095. Again I started at 1.100. I just put them on chairs thinking the concrete was too cool for the yeast. ANd the temp of the must is at about 74 degrees and room temp is 73.

When I started, I divided all ingredients evenly. So nothing would be different in either bucket.