Looking for a decent early drinking red wine

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kdubler

Junior
Reaction score
So I'm new to wine making and have to ask what is a decent early drinking red kit wine. So far I have made wine from Apples, peaches, blueberries, welch's and I have a skeeter pee going. I also have made a WE Cab Franc Ice Wine which is in secondary right now and a WE Gerwurtz that is bottled. I tracked down a Red Mountain Cab which I am going to get going for a few years from now, but I'd also like to start a everyday drinking red which would hopefully be ready to drink within about 5-8 months. I've heard good things about the WE Lunna Rossa, but am also open to suggestions by anybody out there. Thank you in advance

So I'm new to wine making and have to ask what is a decent early drinking red kit wine. So far I have made wine from Apples, peaches, blueberries, welch's and I have a skeeter pee going. I also have made a WE Cab Franc Ice Wine which is in secondary right now and a WE Gerwurtz that is bottled. I tracked down a Red Mountain Cab which I am going to get going for a few years from now, but I'd also like to start a everyday drinking red which would hopefully be ready to drink within about 5-8 months. I've heard good things about the WE Lunna Rossa, but am also open to suggestions by anybody out there. Thank you in advance

I made both the MM Renaissance Amarone and the Cellar Craft Cab/Shiraz blend because both were touted as being early drinkers. At six months, both were still very tart (green). I put them back in bulk storage and haven't tried them in many months. I just don't see them being drinkable in 6 months, myself.