Other Kit Wine Expectations

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simonz

Reaction score
I'm new to winemaking and I just put my first kit into the fermenter. This one is the WE Eclipse Lodi Cabernet. The next for the pipeline that is on order, is the Cellar Craft Showcase Red Mountain Cabernet.

I'm not a wine snob by any means, but I enjoy a decent wine. My daily go to wine is low end Yellow Tail Merlot. This is about the lowest level wine that I enjoy. Other times I like a mid-level cabernet like a 14-Hands Cabernet, which I think is excellent in the $10-14 price range. Occasionally, I'll buy a $20 Cabernet or Merlot.

Once I toured the Opus-1 Winery in California and purchased their taster sample (then it was $25 for a 3 oz. sample). That was the best (and most expensive) wine that I have ever tasted. Since then I've been looking for a similar taste in less expensive wines, but have not found any that are close.

I'm not sure what to expect of my premium kit wines that I have in the pipeline. (I plan on bulk aging for at least a year). I'd be disappointed if they didn't rise above the Yellow Tail Merlot level and hope that they would rise to the mid-level or about the $25 range. I'd be ecstatic if they ever approached the high level wine rankings of say a 92-96 in Wine Spectator scoring.

Could some one with experience with similar kit wines help me where I should set my expectation levels?