Initial Specific Gravity Seems Low

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vinividivici

Reaction score
I'm doing my first batch, using SunCal Zinfandel. I followed the directions exactly and the initial S.G. is 1.064 (adjusted for temp of 75 deg.).

My concern is that references say the starting S.G. should be at least 1.070

Is mine close enough? I just pitched the yeast and would appreciate your thoughts on this.

Thanks,

Bob

Noob here, so take it FWIW.

Was this a kit? If so, it could be that the juice and top-up water were not thoroughly mixed. The juice has more density than water so the juice would naturally seek the bottom. If the sample is drawn from the top, it would give a lower reading.

Noob here, so take it FWIW.

Was this a kit? If so, it could be that the juice and top-up water were not thoroughly mixed. The juice has more density than water so the juice would naturally seek the bottom. If the sample is drawn from the top, it would give a lower reading.

Yes, it's a kit from E.C. Krause. I did thoroughly mix everything, stirring from the bottom up until the sugar was completely dissolved. But, I did take the sample from the top with a new turkey baster (cheap wine thief).

So, from what you're saying, and it makes sense, the starting S.G. is most likely in the normal range?

How do you take your samples? Are you able to get them from the bottom without putting your arm into the juice?

Thanks for the advice!

Yes, it's a kit from E.C. Krause. I did thoroughly mix everything, stirring from the bottom up until the sugar was completely dissolved. But, I did take the sample from the top with a new turkey baster (cheap wine thief).

So, from what you're saying, and it makes sense, the starting S.G. is most likely in the normal range?