I'm sure this has been asked 1000 times

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ferb

Reaction score
I am new to wine/mead making, my question is about equipment. The local brew supply has 2 options. Glass or plastic carboys. Was thinking glass. Is one better, or preferred over the other for bulk aging?

Glass.

You can debate plastic vs glass, but there is one thing that glass can do that no current plastic carboy can do: Survive a vacuum. If you ever get serious and start making wine on a regular basis, you will eventually get a vacuum setup like the All-in-one. Plastic carboys do not work with AIO as the receiving carboy.

Glass also retains more of its resale value if you ever stop making wine.

Glass has been the standby for winemaking. Plastic is much lighter if your lifting the carboys from the floor to the workbench. If using a vacuum to transfer it doesn't matter how much they weigh as you don't have to lift the full ones. I have some of both, usually use glass for long term storage, plastic for some of the shorter times in the carboy. And Welcome to the forum. Arne.

I too say that glass is better than plastic.

I build simple wooden crates that enclose the carboy. This makes it so that there is always a handle to grab, that they are able to be stacked on their sides, and have a "cushion" between the floor and each other. In 25 years, I have never broken a carboy.

Glass is far more long lasting and easier to tell when its clean. I agree that they do retain their value.

In 25 years, I have never broken a carboy.

You are very brave to say that out loud.