I used the stabilizer wrong!

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cintipam

Reaction score
Hi all

Really a novice here and I just realized that instead of mixing the sorbate into cold water and then adding to wine I just tossed the measured dose of crystals into the top of the carboy. I did this just over a month ago to my first one gallon batches, Crangrape and Cranberry Orig Ocean Spray. They were my first batches just to help me get used to tools and procedures, but I'd like to drink them down the road if possible. I also tossed in the Kmeta dose the same way. Should I dose them again, this time mixing into cold water first, or is it too late? I have to dose my second batch with stabilizer today, this time a 6 gal batch of cranapple. If it is ok to toss in the Kmeta I"m guessing I"d need to stir it when added to such a large carboy. Any other tips and suggestions very welcome as I'm learning that the more I think about it the more nitpicky questions come to my mind about ways I can mess it all up.

thanks in advance

Pam in cinti

I don't understand. Did you not stir them in before? I can't believe they didn't eventually dissolve. It should be no problem. You do not have to add more sorb ate.