I think I missed when I was supposed to degas?

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NashChic

Reaction score
I'm brand new to winemaking, but quickly becoming addicted =) I've been lurking on here devouring as much info as I can (many thanks to all of you!!). Things are going pretty good, but I think I've come across something I can't search the answer to...

Here's what I have going:

6 gallon batch of what I hope will end up as Apple Pie Cider-
Starting SG of 1.080, fermented in primary to 0.996, then racked to 6gal Better Bottle with 1 tablespoon sparkolloid (dissolved in 1c. boiling water), 6 crushed kmeta tabs, & 3 t. sorbate. The racking to spark/kmeta/sorbate was on 10/13/12. I realized a couple of days ago that I was probably supposed to degas at that point, then leave it to clear =\

Should I go ahead & degas now (& not worry about the sediment that it stirs up) then it will clear from that point? Or should I rack again, degas, re-sparkolloid, THEN clear?

You guys don't know it but you've already been a huge help to me. I love reading about your wine adventures (& sometimes misadventures ;-))

Thanks!!

Welcome to Winemakingtalk! You will certainly stir up the sediment if you degass now. But go ahead. It should re-settle. I don't think you need to rack at this point, though you could if you really wanted to.

Hi NashChic

Welcome to winemakingtalk. I won't worry about degassing right now. The wine will degass itself if left to age. I would wait until you rack the next time and degass then if needed.

Thanks! (for the welcome & the info) ;)

I think I've got a little of that first batch paranoia. I feel better knowing that it's not ruined.