Head space

Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum

Help Support Winemaking Talk - Winemaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flbama

Junior
Reaction score
I'm a newbie....my primary is a 6 gallon carboy and has what I would consider significant head space. The juice comes right up to where bottle curves up so the rounded top portion of the carboy is all air. Is that acceptable or should I maybe opt for transferring into a 5 gallon carboy instead to eliminate that head space once I rack it. I know I'll lose a gallon but I'd rather have 5 good gallons rather than 6 not so good. For my next batch, I will use my plastice juice bucket as the primary.

You are fine during fermentation (both primary and secondary) as the head space will keep you from blowing wine into the airlock. You need to top it off when fermentation has finished (after racking it) since the CO2 production action of the yeast has ceased.

I advise calibrating your carboys and marking your levels with either tape or you can look into glass etching them with a glass etching kit from your local hobby shop. That way you can see your actual volume of wine at a glance instead of guessing how much is in that carboy.

I would go buy a bottle or 2 of similar wine and top it up.

Use Gaudets advise for future use.

so yeah, you're basically going to want a 5 gallon carboy once
fermentation has finished and you are clarifying/bulk aging (without the
protection of actively produced CO2). you can stick with the 6 gallon
carboy just like gaudet says, and top off between now and the point when fermentation ends with
a comparable wine, grape juice, or water. you'll have to decide which
one you prefer to alter the flavor with if you go that route, so best to
dilute three taste samples with proportional amounts of each option to
aid in that decision. if you prefer the way it tastes without adding any of those three you'll need the smaller carboy.